communication between Montreal and New York. Since 1755 Halifax had had a post office and direct postal communication with Great Britain.

As a consequence of the American Revolution and the resulting isolation of Canada from Nova Scotia, the first exclusively Canadian postal service, a monthly courier route from Halifax to Quebec, was established in 1788, involving a seven weeks trip and expenses of about £200 of which only one-third was met by postal charges. Up to 1804 the postal facilities of Upper Canada consisted of one regular trip by courier each winter with whatever mail might reach Montreal during the season of navigation. Charges were necessarily high, \$1.12 being paid on ordinary letters from London to York (now Toronto) via Halifax.

The first post office in York (now Toronto) was opened about 1800. By 1816 there were 19 offices in the two Canadas and by 1827 this number had increased to 114. At this time the system consisted primarily of a trunk line of communication between Halifax, Quebec, Montreal, York and Amherstburg, over which couriers travelled at varying intervals. Branching off this line were routes to Sorel, Sherbrooke, St. Johns, Hull, Hawkesbury, Perth and Richmönd, with most deliveries made once or twice a week.

Hitherto the Post Office had been under the control of the Imperial Department, but considerable agitation resulted in the service being transferred on April 6, 1851, to the several provinces. Only enough mutual control was maintained to insure the continuance of Imperial and intercolonial services. The provinces had complete jurisdiction over the establishment and maintenance of systems and rates.

At Confederation the provincial systems were transferred to the Dominion. The Post Office Act of 1867 established a service throughout Canada. The domestic rate on letters was reduced from 5 to 3 cents per half-ounce, and in 1870 the rates to the United States and the United Kingdom were reduced from 10 to 6 cents and from $12\frac{1}{2}$ to 6 cents, respectively, per half-ounce. In 1875 a convention between Canada and the United States reduced postal rates between the countries to the domestic level. In 1878, on the admission of Canada to the Postal Union, letter postage to the countries of the Postal Union was reduced to 5 cents per half-ounce. After a conference in 1897 Imperial penny postage (2 cents per half-ounce) was established on Dec. 25, 1898, while the domestic rate was reduced from 3 to 2 cents per ounce. These rates were maintained until 1915, when a 1-cent war tax was imposed on all pay letters and post cards (except where this would be in violation of international agreements), and also on postal notes. Later the rate to the United Kingdom was increased to 4 cents on the first and 3 cents on succeeding ounces, while that to Postal Union countries was raised to 10 cents on the first and 5 The Postal Union rate was reduced in October, 1925, cents on succeeding ounces. to 8 cents for the first ounce and 4 cents for subsequent ounces. Penny postage again became effective for Canada, to the United States, Newfoundland and other countries of North America on July 1, 1926, and to the United Kingdom and all other places within the British Empire on Dec. 25, 1928. On May 24, 1929, penny postage became effective to France and, on Dec. 25, 1929, was extended to all places in South America. On July 1, 1930, the rate to other Postal Union countries was made 5 cents for the first ounce and 3 cents for each succeeding ounce. On July 1, 1931, a special revenue tax, imposed by the Government for the purpose of obtaining additional revenue, came into effect on letters addressed to places in Canada, throughout the Empire, to France and to North and South America